Without filter, by Ruben Östlund, receives the Palme d’or: The complete prize list of the 75th Cannes festival

Without filter, by Ruben Östlund, receives the Palme d'or: The complete prize list of the 75th Cannes festival
75th closing ceremony of the Cannes Film Festival/France 2

Claire Denis, Lukas Dhont, the Dardenne brothers and Park Chan-wook also received awards this evening.

The closing ceremony of 75th Cannes Film Festival just ended, hosted as planned by Virginie Efira. President Vincent Lindon and her jury (Jasmine Trinca, Noomi Rapace, Rebecca Hall, Deepika Padukone, Ladj Ly, Asghar Farhadi, Joachim Trier and Jeff Nichols) delivered their verdict, once again with great emotion. As for the opening, Lindon had prepared a strong speech…and full of wit. Evoking his “single mandate” as president, he had fun with his real status, which gave him a voice, as for all his jurors, in order to elect their favorite films of this edition (“I had one voice among nine, certainly audible but far from being preponderant, that’s the downside of democracy, but that’s how it is!”). A mission that obviously pleased him a lot, since he even demanded a renewal, like a politician: “We need four more years!”he proclaimed in English to the international audience.

So which movies got the most votes? Here is the complete winners of the Cannes Film Festival 2022. Note that a prize has been specially created this year for the 75th anniversary of the festival. It was handed over to Tori and Lokitaby the Dardenne brothers, who have already won two Palmes d’Or for Rosetta (1999) and The Child (2005). As for the big winner of the evening, he was also an award-winning director: Ruben Östlund received a second Palme d’Or for Without filter (Triangle of Sadness), five years later The Square.

Cannes 2022: stars in shambles for the climb of the steps of the 75th anniversary

The complete winners of the Cannes Film Festival 2022:

Palme d’Or : Without filter (Triangle of Sadness) by Ruben Ostlund

Grand Prize: Ex aequo Close by Lukas Dhont and Stars at Noon by Claire Denis

Lukas Dhont: “It took me a long time to find inspiration after Girl”

Jury Prize: ex aequo The Eight Mountains by Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix Van Groeningen, and Hi Han by Jerzy Skolimowski

Staging Award: Park Chan-wook for Decision to Leave

Best Actress Award: Zar Amir Ebrahimi for Nights of Mashhad

Best Actor Award: Song Kang-ho for The Lucky Stars

Ali Abbasi – The Nights of Mashhad: “I am worried about my actors who still live in Iran”

Screenplay Prize: Boys from Heaven by Tarik Saleh

Golden Camera: war pony by Gina Gammell and Riley Keough
Special Mention of the Camera d’Or: Map 75 by Hayakawa Chie

Short Film Palme d’Or: The Water Murmurs by Jianying Chen

Special mention of the short film: lori by Abinash Bikram Shah

Prizes of the 75th Cannes Film Festival: Tori and Lokita by Luc Dardenne and Jean-Pierre Dardenne

Elvis, The Almond Trees, The Good Stars… Fifteen films to remember from Cannes 2022

Leave a Reply